Home » Uncategorized » Grab and Go for Grazing Teens

Grab and Go for Grazing Teens

So I’ve been trying to come up with ways to manage feeding a hungry teen who prefers grazing over having large meals. In 100*+ weather, the last thing I want to do is cook something in the kitchen every time she is hungry. My solution, is what I call “grab and go”, and this is the first one I’ve come up with. Not only is it easy, but it’s very cost effective. I bought a huge bag of fully cooked breaded wings at the chicken store and portioned them out into 10 wings in each of 9 baggies. They are all then placed in a large 2 gallon baggie with the heating instructions written on the front. I then added 9 individual bags of chips into a basket in the pantry. All my teen has to do is grab a bag of wings, place then in a glass dish, cover and heat in the microwave for 3.5 minutes and then coat them in whatever sauce she chooses from the fridge. Grab a bag chips to go along with it and she’s good to go. Next up is individual portions of broccoli and fish, and then meatloaf with corn. This is also really great because all I have to do is glance at the 2 gallon bag and I can see if she’s getting low on portions or not. I”m also going to try this with dried fruit as snacks.

grabandgo

Leave a Reply

