Home » Uncategorized » Strawberry Orange Jam

Strawberry Orange Jam

So this is my third time canning and I think this was the most successful yet! None of my jars leaked during their water bath, the canner boiled consistently, and I DIDN’T FORGET TO WIPE THE strawberryorange4JAR TOPS before putting on the lids. lol. And all three of my beautiful jars sealed perfectly. I’m so excited! Ok, now on to what’s IN the jars!

I found this recipe on the internet and when I saw strawberries on sale for .99 a container, I KNEW exactly what I was going to do with them! The recipe doesn’t call for much so even if the fruit isn’t on sale, it would still be an easy thing to do. Getting the pulp from the oranges though, that was a bit labor-intensive. However, once I started treating them as if I were eating a grapefruit, it went much better. I cut each orange in half, ran a knife around the outside edge and down each section and then used a spoon to scoop out the pulp. It worked like a charm!

The other thing I did this time, was to pre-measure out ALL of my ingredients and set them to the side. starwberryorange1

This kept me from running around and getting confused as to what I needed to do next. I actually had time to just sit and wait on the canner to heat up. 🙂 Anyway, this is a great recipe and the jelly started setting even before it was in the jars, which pleased me immensely. So go ahead and give this one a try, it’s super delicious and not difficult at all to make. For the recipe here on my blog, click HERE or use the RECIPE menu to the right. Happy canning!

Leave a Reply

