Home » Uncategorized » Canned Apples in a Medium Syrup

Canned Apples in a Medium Syrup

So the Husbeast was very gracious in helping me core and slice 10 pounds of red delicious apples. I followed (nearly) the Ball Blue Book for the recipe and I didn’t like how cooked the applesreddelicious were by the time they went into the canner. Next time, I think I’ll raw pack with a medium syrup and maybe do a few jars of apples pie filling as well. I know that the apples will go on sale this Fall around town and so I wanted to do at least one batch before then so I can decide how best to do it later. I got 9 pints out of this batch and one of them didn’t seal and leaked into the canner. So that made the jars sticky and they needed a good bath before getting stored away. All in all, not bad for being only my second time canning. lol.

apples2

Leave a Reply

